Resources

Professional Organizations & Departments of Education

American School Counselor Association
http://www.schoolcounselor.org

American Counseling Association
http://www.aca.org

Pennsylvania School Counselor Association
http://www.psca-web.org

Pennsylvania Department of Education
http://www.pde.state.pa.us

United States Department of Education
http://www.ed.gov


Resources by Topic

Advocacy
Connect for Kids www.connectforkids.org

Alcohol
Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board www.lcb.state.pa.us
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse & Alcoholism www.niaaa.nih.gov
Alcoholics Anonymous www.alcoholics-anonymous.org
Mothers Against Drunk Driving www.madd.org
Students Against Destructive Decisions www.sadd.org

Body Image
Body Positive www.bodypositive.com

Bullying
Kidscape: Dealing with Bullies www.kidscape.org.uk/
Stop Bullying Now! www.stopbullyingnow.com
STOP Cyberbullying www.stopcyberbullying.org

Career Education
Career Builder www.careerbuilder.com
Pennsylvania Career Zone www.pacareerzone.org
It's My Future www.myfuture.com
Occupation Outlook Handbook www.bls.gov/oco
What Do You Like? www.bls.gov/k12

Character Education & Social Skills
Center for Social & Emotional Education www.schoolclimate.org
Character Counts www.charactercounts.org
Collaborative for the Advancement of Social & Emotional Learning www.casel.org

Conflict Resolution
www.resolve.org

Crisis Management
Crisis Management Institute www.cmionline.org
Emergency Planning Site www2.ed.gov/admins/lead/safety/emergencyplan/index.html

Cultural Competency
National MultiCultural Institute www.nmci.org
Office of Minority Health www.omhrc.gov
Advocates for Youth www.youthresource.com

Diversity
The Association for Multicultural Counseling & Development www.amcd-aca.org
Tolerance.org www.tolerance.org
Learning Disabilities Online www.ldonline.org
Emotional Intelligence www.eq.org

Eating Disorders
Anorexia Nervosa & Related Eating Disorders, Inc. www.anred.com
The National Eating Disorder Information Center www.nedic.ca
Overeaters Anonymous www.overeatersanonymous.org

Exceptionality
American Student Achievement Institute www.asainstitute.org
Brain Connection www.brainconnection.positscience.com
The Education Trust www.edtrust.org

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, & Questioning Youth
GLBT History www.glbthistory.org
GLBT National Help Center www.glnh.org
Youth OUTreach www.lambda.org/youth.htm
LGBT Youth www.civilrights.org/lgbt/youth

Grief
National Center for Grieving Children and Families www.dougy.org
National Institute for Trauma & Loss in Children www.starrtraining.org/tlc

Health Issues
American Heart Association www.americanheart.org
American Diabetes Association www.diabetes.org

Healthy Relationships
Domestic Violence & Incest Resources Center www.dvirc.org.au/whenlove/index.htm

Mental Health
Penn Foundation http://www.pennfoundation.org
Lenape Valley Foundation http://www.pmhc.org
Penndel Mental Health Center http://www.pmhc.org
Primary Mental Health Project www.childrensinstitute.net

Nutrition
U.S. Food and Drug Administration www.fda.gov
American Dietetic Association www.eatright.org
Calorie Control Council www.caloriecontrol.org
The Vegetarian Resource Group www.vrg.org

Parenting
Parenting.com www.parenting.com
Parenting Education www.activeparenting.com
National Network for Childcare www.nncc.org

Physical Wellness and Education
The President's Council on Physical Fitness & Sports www.fitness.gov
Let's Move! http://www.letsmove.gov

Safety
The National School Safety Center www.schoolsafety.us
Safe Within www.safewithin.com
Security on Campus, Inc. www.campussafety.org

Stress
The American Institute of Stress www.stress.org
Kids Have Stress Too www.psychologyfoundation.org/kidshavestresstoo.php
KidsHealth www.kidshealth.org

Sustainability
America's Second Harvest www.secondharvest.org

Technology Safety
OnGuard Online www.onguardonline.org
Get Net Wise Coalition www.getnetwise.org
I Keep Safe www.ikeepsafe.org
National Cyber Security Alliance www.staysafeonline.org

Tobacco
American Lung Association www.lungusa.org
Coalition for a Tobacco Free Pennsylvania www.tobaccofreepa.org
Tobacco Facts www.tobaccofacts.org

Tolerance
Teaching Tolerance www.tolerance.org

Violence
National Youth Violence Prevention Campaign www.nyvpw.org
National Youth Violence Prevention Resource Center www.safeyouth.org/scripts/index.asp
Center for Prevention on School Violence www.ncdjjdp.org/cpsv
Fight Crime: Invest in Kids www.fightcrime.org
Student Pledge Against Gun Violence www.pledge.org

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.